Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Since this is the most popular thread on the RealBeer.co.nz forum I thought I would start it here just to see what happens

Views: 94614

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Ah, no worries. My plan is to dry hop once, then adjust the second dry-hop once I see how the first one has gone. Don't worry, in the unlikely event of me winning I'll reveal all.
I'm thinking of experimenting a little with Extracts;

A medium to dark Malt extract
Treacle
No Hops

I'm not sure about the treacle though, cause I know sucrose gives the beer a 'yeasty' flavour, but i'm not sure about treacle, nor brown sugar for that matter...
No hops?

I'm no expert, but you need something in there to balance the residual sweetness from the unfermentable sugars, which won't be inconsiderable if you're using treacle and Med/Dark ME, otherwise you'll just have sickly sweet alcohol unless thats your aim, in which case, good luck.

I'd do some googling and see what other people have done sans hops, if its recommended etc. My 12c suggestion would be to use some historical throwback (bog myrtle, heather, spices (cinnamon, coriander, star anise, flowers, rimu, mauka etc etc)).

It'd be good to know what the hypothesis of the experiment is to be able to offer you some more advice re no hops. If its different extracts why not try LME versus a darker one in the same (hopped) beer? Adjuncts, then brew the same beer with golden syrup and treacle. No hops, well, see above.
Happy brewing