Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70880

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

So, what do you guys reckon? Keep in mind I am still a newbie to AG.

8.00 lbs. Weyermann Pilsner Malt
1.00 lbs. Global Munich Malt
0.50 lbs. Weyermann CaraAmber
0.50 lbs. Global Caramel Light
0.50 lbs.  Bairds Pale Crystal
0.25 lbs.  Bairds Brown malt
0.10 lbs.  Weyermann Choc Wheat

Hops 
Amount Name Form Alpha IBU Boil Time 
1.00 oz. Willamette Pellet 5.50 
1.00 oz. Fuggle Pellet 4.00 9.1 
1.00 oz. Fuggle Pellet 4.00 4.8 
1.00 oz. Willamette Pellet 5.50
Pounds and ounces????????????????????? Aye!? :-P

That's a shit load of different malts, if you're new to AG I'd keep it simple, and only use a few at a time.

What exactly are you trying to brew?
Pounds and ounces????????????????????? Aye!? :-P

Father Michael hasn't converted yet DG.

Michael, a suggestion is to take a read through the recipes on howtobrew or a favourite author and start there with a style you know you like. You mentioned the North Yorks ales as favourites, maybe someone can suggest a good starting point ?

cheers, jt
I still think in terms of inches, feet, lbs, ounces, etc... I did not grow up on the metric system :)

This is supposed to be something similar to a brew I like called, Fat Tire.

I think JT has a good idea. Perhaps I should stick with a North Yorkshire bitter ale, as I enjoy them a lot. I also enjoy pale ales such as Sierra Nevada.
Whoa, whoa, whoa, stop there buddy! If Fat Tire is what you wanna brew, brew it mate!

Have you done many extract and steeped grain beers?