Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

My first born is about to make an appearance in a couple days so I thought it would be great to stick away a couple top notch beers to crack open on his 18th.

Anyone done this before - will they last that long?

Any suggestions for beers that fit the criteria?

I'm aiming to lay down a barley wine at some stage which I'm hoping will last the distance but it would also be great to get some other beers for a point of comparison.

Views: 108

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I'm no expert in this area but Thomas Hardy is a usual for this sort of thing - snap up any you can find though because they've stopped brewing it.

I'd say any big beer from a reputable brewery would be worth a shot.
+1 for Thomas Hardys and wtf Glen?? Theyve stopped making it??

That makes the 2 bottles of 2008 I have so much more valuble!!
Yeah, I think they stopped making it last year or something.

I'm sure someone else here will be able to chime in with some more info (or (hopefully) prove me wrong).
18 years is a hellava long time for a beer. Even for Thomas hardys the 10 year vertical tasting is a big deal - 18 years is almost twice that...
only one way to find out though...
Thomas Hardy's was originally brewed by Eldridge Pope, they gave up the beer in 1999 and gave up brewing altogether a year or two later. An American Company Phoenix Imports bought the rights to the beer, and in 2003 contracted O'Hanlons of Devon to brew it. O'Hanlons ran into serious financial issues during the world financial crisis and decided to give up the contract in order to free up conditioning space for running beers that would turn over quicker. There are currently rumours in the trade that a new producer will be announced soon.

As for how long it will age, I had a 1979 bottle for my 30th last year, it was stunning.

Cheers
Kieran
So what year did they stop making it?? Last year?