Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie to the splendid art of full mash brewing and am busy trying the set myself up to indulge this wonderful pastime. I have plumbed for a Barley Crusher and plate wort cooler which I finally have ordered from a crowd in WA called TWOC Brewing Supplie - Roy there has proven VERY helpful. Now I am on the hunt for a suitable esky with tap (I have material for a false bottom) and a ss brew pot with a thick bottom. I intend to do just 25 L brews initially but I understand a 36 to 40 L HLT is desireable to allow room for the boil and also that the chilly bin need to be large enough.
I would be most grateful if anyone has ideas as to where I might procure these items affordably and what would be most suitable. I look forward to his new group very much.
Cheers,
Ian

Views: 103

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Have you looked into BIAB? Then you wouldnt need as much extra equipment...
Hi there,
I haven't but I'll look further into that.
Cheers,
Ian
Hi Ian,

What batch size will you want to end up brewing ? If you're setting up, you may aswell go to the maximum size that you'll eventually want.
There was some discussion about some pots available on trademe not long ago, take a browse there, they looked good value, but maybe one of the guys that bought could give an opinion on quality ?
Thanks for that advice, I'll look into the pots you mention. Regarding gearing for the batch size you eventually want to aim for, that sounds like good advice and has been mentioned to me by others. I had in mind smaller batches around the 25L mark, but, as you suggest, this could change with a bit of experience.
Cheers,
Ian
What's the homebrewers community like down there ?