Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70876

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Thanks guys. This is the first time I've tried adding spices, so am concerned about overdoing it. I might pull back the spice amounts a bit then.

Has anyone tried boiling up a "spice tea" and adding it to the bottling bucket? Just a thought. Then I could sample and adjust before bottling.

Joking, I'm still a novice, but does mash temp affect the body of the beer? I did a standard porter a while back and mashed a bit on the low side, and the beer came out quite thin tasting.

Making a spice tea and adding back is the trick.

Mashing high does add body... but the thing with US-05 is that especially with beers less than 1.060, it'll still attenuate around 78 - 80%... unless you use less than a whole packet.

I would try your spice tea idea, using these spices is like amking a curry. 1 tsp of cinnamon will go miles further than 1 tsp of nutmeg. I'd make up a solution of your spice and add them in different amounts to a known amount of store bought beer similar to what your aiming to produce.

Thanks for the tips guys. I did a wee experiment last night. Using a coffee plunger, I made a tea with the spices, plus a little roasted barley and chocolate malt, cooled it and added to one of my APAs.

It was more to get a feel for how the flavours might work together.

The result: Flavours should work well. But as JoKing suggested, it could prob do with some Crystasl in there to add a little sweetness.

Looking to brew an American Brown for the cooler weather and to use up my last US hops.

OG 1.052 for 21L batch
80% pale
5% dark crystal
5% pale crystal
5% cara-pils
5% pale chocolate

35IBU of Southern Cross at 60min

Then at 15, 5 and 1mins, 7g each of Amarillo, Chinook and Simcoe.