Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

g'day everyone,

I am new to kegging and im wondering about everyones processes for conditioning. My last brew an APA got the following treatment, in primary around one week, then rack to keg and add sugar to prime, left it about a week then into the fridge where its under 1 bar of CO2. Thats where its at now, I have another in primary, and an IPA planned for this weekend.
whats your thoughts on this process?

cheers,

Ben

Views: 238

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I don't prime my kegs, just ferment, secondary and then rack to keg.
Then into the fridge under serving pressure where it conditions for about a week before I start to drink (though I do taste it before the week is up)

I thought priming a keg would take longer than a week, but I guess depends on a lot of variables.

cheers, jt
Yeah me too, I just gas it up. no need at all to prime in the keg, in fact you'll just create more yeasty muck on the bottom.
Having said that a lot of people swear that the taste from forced carbonation is different to natural, I call bollocks. Surely co2 is co2 is co2.
If you want to be drinking quicker, leave it on 40psi for a day and a half (scientific eh!) and then return to serving pressure. Day 3 start drinking. Disclaimer: do this once you have some experience with kegging, otherwise you'll end up overcarbonating which is a pain to correct.
Or even quicker, charge to 40psi and invert the keg, or hook the gas line up to the beer out post - so the gas goes down the dip tube to the bottom of the keg - rock the keg for 2 minutes. Leave for an hour, burp, hook up at usual serving pressure and drink. If undercarbonated, repeat. You can have drinkable beer the same day.
Priming would need some calculation - Volume, FG, temperature, volumes of co2 required etc etc to be accurate wouldn't it - like bulk priming ?