Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70873

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Have a look back here for Kid Chocolate. I brewed a dozen tweaks of it
From memory, 10% Pale Crystal, 5% Brown, a fair whack of Pale Chocolate from memory and some black.
Use plenty of crystal, whatever sort it is, plenty of nice rich chocolate. And then the Brown, or Biscuit if you prefer, for a nice distinctive malt.
I used '04, suited it well. Nottingham finished too low.

Hi,

I'm new to the game, but trying to brew a nice NZ APA (similar to Tuatara AoPA). Realise this will be hard with extract but whaddya reckon to the following? Maybe move some of the dryhops to flameout?

APA! American IPA

Recipe Specs ---------------- Batch Size (L):           23.0

Total Grain (kg):         4.200

Total Hops (g):           250.00

Original Gravity (OG):    1.057  

Final Gravity (FG):       1.013 

Alcohol by Volume (ABV):  5.76 %

Colour (SRM):             10.1  

Bitterness (IBU):         50.9  

Boil Time (Minutes):      60

Grain Bill ----------------

3.000 kg Liquid Malt Extract - Light (71.43%)

0.500 kg Dry Malt Extract - Light (11.9%)

0.300 kg Dextrose (7.14%)

0.200 kg Caramunich III (4.76%)

0.200 kg Crystal 60 (4.76%)

Hop Bill ----------------

15.0 g Pacific Jade Pellet (15.2% Alpha) @ 60 Minutes (Boil) (0.7 g/L)

10.0 g Cascade Pellet (7.8% Alpha) @ 20 Minutes (Boil) (0.4 g/L)
10.0 g Nelson Sauvin Pellet (11.5% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil) (0.4 g/L)

15.0 g Pacific Jade Pellet (15.2% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil) (0.7 g/L)

15.0 g Wai-iti Pellet (3.5% Alpha) @ 10 Minutes (Boil) (0.7 g/L)

10.0 g Cascade Pellet (7.8% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil) (0.4 g/L)

15.0 g Nelson Sauvin Pellet (11.5% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil) (0.7 g/L)

10.0 g Wai-iti Pellet (3.5% Alpha) @ 5 Minutes (Boil) (0.4 g/L)