Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70873

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I might stick with the lower 0.25kg then. thanks guys, I will be mashing at 69 to try and keep some malty goodness around, but like you say, and from what the CHCH guys say, it eats everything in sight pretty much.

I've never used it before, on the hops, a little go a long way, you think I should change the hops schedule? Any recommendations for this?

If it were me Id try to stay under 20ibu, Probably skip your 60 minute addition and aim for one or two late additions.... Id also skip the dry hop but taste the beer and see if you like it.... every time Ive used 3711 its produced this incredible citrus spice flavor, and then after Ive dry hopped (with as little as 10 grams) that character disappears, I think its unique enough to warrant being left alone.

+1 on keeping the IBUs on the lower side. The massive attenuation really accentuates bitterness.

If it were me Id try to stay under 20ibu, Probably skip your 60 minute addition and aim for one or two late additions.... Id also skip the dry hop but taste the beer and see if you like it.... every time Ive used 3711 its produced this incredible citrus spice flavor, and then after Ive dry hopped (with as little as 10 grams) that character disappears, I think its unique enough to warrant being left alone.

Interesting Adam, I never thought about it that way. I've had one or two dryhopped saisons, and enjoyed it, as I'll be aiming to ferment at higher temperatures. I figured, I'd need some hoppy Goodness?

Do you have any suiggestion for the hops Schedule?

So if i keep it under 20 IBU, I can use 15/10/5 to give it that IBU? and still get a good sauvin amount?