Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Bit of a stuff up as I designed this beer for us-05 but the local brew shop had none the day after I brewed so I had to go with T-58, but the beer turned out quite balanced, well, you be the judge..

Ran out on the 16th bottle so unfortunately someone has a rogue NZ amber, be interesting to see if you can spot it ;)

Pour hard cos I carbonate low

20 litre batch

2.5kg Golden Promise
600g kolsch
600g wheat
200g caramunich 2
80g caraamber
80g caraaroma

30 - 15g centennial 9.2%
20 - 40g ahtanum 4.8%
15 - 15g amarillo 8.2%
5 - 20g ahtanum 4.8%
0 - 20g centennial, 10g amarillo

OG - 1.047
FG - 1.014
IBU - 40

Views: 132

Replies to This Discussion

I'm no expert but I suspect my bottle was infected or oxidized unfortunately. The bottle was rock solid and gushed when I opened it, carbonation was really violent in the glass. It was extremely dry as if it had continued to ferment in the bottle and smelled/tasted a bit stale. I really couldn't say whether I got the Amber or the Belgian APA.  I think whatever the issue is seems to have stripped alot of the flavor and aroma away. Wish I was more experienced so I could give you a better idea of what was up

Looking forward to my first reviled beer.

It poured a slightly hazy coppery gold.  The nose was all belgian spice with maybe a hint of hop in their behind.  I found this a very decent belgian pale ale which I quaffed with great pleasure.  Interestingly the yeast was all over this beer masking allot of those big american hops although they start to come through the more I drank.  I've never used T-58 but it tastes like it would be a very able emergency belgian to have on hand. 

I'm always amazed at the power of yeast.  Put US05 into this and you'd have had a completely different beer.

Cheers Rev

Cheers for the feedback mate :o) Interesting...