Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi everyone! As the title suggests I'm pretty new at this, made 2-3 batches of extract and actually getting a bit frustrated at how rubbish they are. Going to try a mini-mash of some description this weekend to get some results.

1. One can of extract for 22L seems a bit weak, Most recipes seem to recommend 3-4kg of extract instead of 1.7kg, is this right?

2. One can Coopers Ale + can Macs Pale + 1kg crushed Crystal + 50g fuggles = gud beer?

3. Can I prime the bottles with dry malt, and what difference does it make?

4. Why do most NZ beers taste so bad, Speights/Tui/Lion Red etc? What were they aiming for before making it fizzy and freezing cold?

I'd like to encourage any other n00bs to add questions too!

Views: 135

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Crash

I did kit & kilo brewing off and on for years. The results were largely dissapointing with horrible yeasty & cidery flavours. I then discovered HowToBrew and never looked back.

If you follow the HowToBrew techniques, you'll need some additional gear and you'll spend additional time brewing but the results make it well worth the effort.
1 + 2. I agree with MrC, check out how to brew and follow JP's direction for Extract and grain beers. If you're going to add your own hops and grain there isn't much point (to me anyway) of using pre-hopped kits - better off using unhopped D/LME.

3. Yup, you can prime with DME, apparently it gives a slightly better flavour but I've never bothered trying it. The amount of refined sugar to prime is pretty small and shouldn't give any off flavours, it's also a lot cheaper.

4. I don't know. I'd say it's because to the majority of Kiwi's beer is just another alcohol delivery device. The NZ draught beers are pretty approachable - sweetish, not that bitter, pretty flavourless overall.

Hope that helps,

Glenim.