Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

I've been acting as the Auckland regional coordinator for SOBA for about 2 years now and in that time the membership has grown quite significantly, but the attendance at monthly meetings has (at best) stayed roughly the same. On several occasions I've sought your views on meeting venues, dates/times of meetings etc. but never had much feedback. It's disheartening to organise these events and get poor attendance.

Recently I came to the view that perhaps part of the problem was that we lacked focus, so I've suggested that we choose an issue to get behind for the next year. The chosen issue is that of getting more establishments in Auckland to stock craft beer, and the plan was to kick this off at next Saturday's meeting at Galbraith's Alehouse (Sat 13th March @ 2pm). So far, despite publicising this meeting on this mailing list, on the SOBA website, on the RealBeerNZ forum & on Facebook, I have had only 3 confirmed attendees respond to me.

So, perhaps I've reached the end of the road. Maybe people are voting with their feet and telling me that they don't want this kind of meeting and organization. If so, that's fine. I can step back and let someone else come forward and organise members how they think fit. I don't want to do this, because I think that SOBA in Auckland can be a powerful force for craft beer. I find it embarrassing that all the big craft beer events happen in Wellington or Nelson but we CAN do something about this. It does, however, need people to put some effort in. As with most things in life, you get out what you put in.

Galbraith's Alehouse this Saturday will therefore be my Last Chance Saloon. If we get a good turnout of SOBA members who are keen to do something about improving the availability of craft beer in Auckland then I'll keep going. If not, then I'll step aside and leave someone else to organise meetings going forward (or not, if that's what people want).