Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70873

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi there everyone, I have a slightly strange advice request, if anyone can help. I am very new to this, have my first (extract based) brew in the secondary fermenter at the moment, I enjoyed making it so much (although there were a few stressful moments!) that I am currently collecting gear to set up for AG (have managed to convinced my wife that the "savings in beer costs are going to be huge", I have a green light to go!). However in the meantime I want to do a few more extract based brews. I, like many of you it seems, really really like the Twisted Hop IPA (both this years version and last) and I would like to try to produce something that is at least an approximation to this sort of taste. Here is the slightly strange bit, I would really like to brew it now extract based, and then later as AG when I am set up - I think it would be interesting to compare the differences between the two side by side. Can anyone point me towards a suitable recepie or two?
Hey Nick,

I'm just trying to put together my IPA at the moment too. Joking just pointed me to his recipe: Yakima Monster with the following tip: If you are an extract brewer, Steep the specialty grains, and substitute the Maris Otter with 4.5 kilos of Light Liquid extract. The resulting beer should be in the ballpark of what you are looking for.

Here's where I'm at:

Amount Item Type % or IBU
5.00 kg Pale Malt, Maris Otter (5.9 EBC) Grain 100.00 %
30.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (60 min) Hops 17.2 IBU
30.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (45 min) Hops 15.8 IBU
30.00 gm Cascade [5.50 %] (15 min) Hops 8.5 IBU
30.00 gm NZ Sauvin [13.00 %] (5 min) Hops 8.1 IBU
40.00 gm NZ Sauvin [13.00 %] (0 min) Hops -
50.00 gm NZ Sauvin [13.00 %] (Dry Hop 4 days) Hops -