Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Since this is the most popular thread on the RealBeer.co.nz forum I thought I would start it here just to see what happens

Views: 94598

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Good man! Could make an interesting contrast on the day.

It feels good to get back in the brewshed again. I didn't brew in the whole month of February, the first time I've gone a whole month since I started brewing.

Anyway, time for a bit of an experiment. I wanted to make a fruit beer, mainly because I haven't before. I was listening to a little Prince, and the name Peaches'n'Cream Ale came to me, so hence a cream ale with peach puree added in the secondary!

70% Pale Malt (Gladfields)

17.5% Flaked maize

3.5% Carapils

2% Torrified wheat

7% dextrose

Mashed at 67 degrees

8g Pacific Jade @ 60 mins

2g Pacific Jade @ 30 mins

Fermenting with Wyeast 1338 European Ale at 18 degrees

OG 1.047 (before peaches), 16.5IBU.

Peaches will go into secondary. I'm planning 2kgs stoned, chopped & boiled up with a little water. I'm told that the peach flavour might need boosting with some peach syrup so I'll have that on standby at the end.

Just put down a Standard / Ordinary Bitter as Ive been enjoying the Bookbinder lately

Here is my take on it

87% Maris Otter

6.25% Caramalt

6.25% Med Crystal

0.5% Black

Green bullet to 20 IBU

50/50 Fuggles & Motueka at 15 and 0 to final IBU of 26

Saf US-05

OG 1.036

All went pretty much to plan, fermenting away nicely at the moment at 20deg. Cant wait to test her out!!

45 Litre batch of my Hop Harvest Ale today.

8kg Global Kolsch

500g 120L Crystal

30mt Protein rest at 50C

30mt Sacharification at 66C

40g Target at 60

100g Green Cascade at 10 (hops picked during the mash)

100g Green Cascade at flame-out

2 pkt US-05

50g Dried Cascade dry hopped in secondary.

How cool is it to pick the ingredients during the brew :-)