Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi everyone! As the title suggests I'm pretty new at this, made 2-3 batches of extract and actually getting a bit frustrated at how rubbish they are. Going to try a mini-mash of some description this weekend to get some results.

1. One can of extract for 22L seems a bit weak, Most recipes seem to recommend 3-4kg of extract instead of 1.7kg, is this right?

2. One can Coopers Ale + can Macs Pale + 1kg crushed Crystal + 50g fuggles = gud beer?

3. Can I prime the bottles with dry malt, and what difference does it make?

4. Why do most NZ beers taste so bad, Speights/Tui/Lion Red etc? What were they aiming for before making it fizzy and freezing cold?

I'd like to encourage any other n00bs to add questions too!

Views: 135

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Ok, might be too late for you but from what I have learnt about kit brewing from Hauraki Home Brew is: -
1, - 22L is perfect for a 1.8kg kit. Just add 1kg of dextrose when mixing and 5ml of sugar when bottling. Its easy!
2, - Why are you mixing 2 types / brands / make of beer? Sorry, but that sounded horrible! Stick to one 1.8kg per 22L.
3, - Sorry, I don't know...
4, - Being from England I don't think NZ beer is the best. But all NZ commercial beer isn't the tasiest and is mass produced so being fizzy makes the alcohol quicker - therefore making the process quicker and making more money - and colder cos thats how Kiwis like it!

Hope that helps and remembers its fun!
It's been a long time since I brewed extract, but here goes:

1. I agree, it's way too light unless you top it up with more malt/other fermentables. Sorry Antony, but I don't think just adding dextrose will help. :)