Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi,

I'm new to brewing, have just done 4 batches from various kits that have turned out thoroughly enjoyable - a lager, a bock, a dark ale, and a Mexican cerveza.

I'd like to do an IPA for my 5th beer. Black Rock do an East India Pale Ale kit. I'd like to do one with a higher alcohol content, as per the traditional IPA. I'm not brave enough, nor have the gear to do a mash (if that's the right term?), so I'm wondering if anyone can give me headsup if this can be done from a kit, or if I'll kill it or make it taste nasty?

I've googled this quite a bit, but can only find recipes for higher content IPA's by doing a mash or partial mash.

Many thanks,
db

Views: 261

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Here's a starter...

Use two cans of the IPA kit and a can of unhopped pale malt.
Buy some decent yeast - S04 or US05. You'll need two packets for a beer that strong. I find US05 to be a reasonable English-style yeast at the sort of high ferment temps we get around this time of year. I get some stonefruit esters (peach/nectarine).
Dry hop at the end of fermentation - or in secondary - with english-style hops such as goldings or or fuggles.
It's not really to daunting, definitely use two tins of malt (and not sugar) but you could also use less water, fill her up to about 13L and you should get about 7% out of it. You definately want to use some extra hops in the boil as well to get that lovely bitterness that an IPA demands. You don't strictly need to secondary ferment either just leave a bit longer in the bottle and it conditions out nicely. All in all you don't need to do much different just tweaking the end volume will get you the percentage that you want.
You should get enough bitterness out of a Toucan by it'self , unless the extra malt balances it too far back