Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Since this is the most popular thread on the RealBeer.co.nz forum I thought I would start it here just to see what happens

Views: 94600

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Everyone!

I'm keen on some comments (and/or constructive criticisms) regarding a brew I put down last night

Warning! - I'm just a novice who's still using 'kit' beers :)

My plan at this stage is dry hopping this (once it's finished fermenting) for a week or two with something like 100g Motueka and maybe 50 or 75g Nelson Sauvin.

I've got about 90g US Cascade that I'm tempted to throw (some of) into this 'dry hop mix' but probably won't until I've sampled an experiment I bottled only last Saturday ...

Thoughts/ideas on all or any aspects of this would be greatly appreciated

Hey Matthew - nothing wrong with extract brewing - they make a damn good beer when done well.

Looking at your brewsheet two things stand out for me - first the calculated IBUs are very low for the hop additions you've used.  I get more like 50 IBU plugging your additions into Beersmith so you might want to look into that on your software.  I wouldn't worry about it though with an OG of 1050ish this will be a nice hoppy bitter (and fruity with the Nelson Sauvin) pale ale.

The other is your yeast choice.  T-58 isn't usually an IPA yeast.  Its a belgian ale strain which tends to give peppery flavours.  Having said that it'll still make a nice tasting beer - and along with your dry hopping and other ingredients should give you something pretty good.

Re your dry hopping.  This'll be a ballsy aroma bomb with 150g Mot and NS.  If thats what you're looking for then go for it.  Personally I'd dry hop with 15 - 25g each of your Motueka and Cascade for something a little more balanced.  A reasonable rule of thumb is 1g per litre dry hopping for a conservative amount.

Cheers and enjoy - this experimentation is what its all about.