Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Greetings fellow brewers! Also, a burner-reg connection query

Hey guys,

Having got my head around kit brewing last year I'm making the step up into all grain brewing. I'm slowly acquiring all the bits I need for brew-in-a-bag system, and I've found these forums great for some advice on making an immersion chiller (thanks, brass123!) and for steering me towards buying a better quality pot.I thought I'd say hi and share my latest problem which I figure someone will be able to help me with! Apologies in advance for not knowing what various things are called, I'm new to this. I would normally search before posting (good forum etiquette, right?) but since I'm not sure of the terminology this makes searching a bit tricky.

I bought a 3-ring burner from trademe, and the bit the regulator connects to (does this have a name?) looks totally different to any of the ones I was looking at in Bunnings. How do I connect my reg to this? Do I need to go to a gas fitter and get this done 'professionally' or will a bit of kiwi DIY skill be alright? I'm in Auckland (Kingsland) if that's relevant.

Once this is sorted I'll try the recipe on the brewer's coop website as a first all-grain brew, as the guys there recommended it as a good one to cut my teeth on, before eventually moving on to making an Epic Armageddon or Hallertau Beastwars clone. I thought I'd try dry-hopping it as well as I like hoppy, aromatic beer and I feel fairly comfortable dry-hopping from my kit-brewing experience. Can anyone recommend a good hop style/amount to dry hop this recipe with? The recipe uses 56g pellets (I thought I'd use cascade pellets as I've found them good so far), so would dry-hopping with ~30g cascade cones be a good bet?

Thanks in advance, I'm looking forward to learning lots about all-grain brewing on these forums.

James

Views: 241

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion