Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Afternoon all, here are some pics of my first year's growth from a single Green Bullet Hop rhizome. Its done quite well tucked down the side of my house in Auckland and gets sun for 3 or 4 hours or so a day.
Gutted i managed to break off the biggest and most flower ladden bine when i dropped a large scaffolding frame on it ...

What can i expect from this years harvest and growth, what i need to do to prune it back once its done, and what i need to do to take care of it (feeding watering etc.) over winter. Can i expect a lot more growth next few year. Quite happy how it ended up size-wise ... maybe could look at expanding the wires further horizontally. Cheers ...

Views: 1117

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Nice one Chris - not bad growth for its first year by all accounts. I'm in my first year of growing in the ground too and figure that any flowers from the first year are a bonus.  Check out the Library for info sources on growing hops - my take is that they need a bit of food and water during growing season but are otherwise pretty robust.  I've heard some just run the lawnmower over the bines after harvest and wait for them to sprout again next spring.  I'll be digging my rhizomes up and dividing them to get a better spread across my garden bed.

that's awesome man. i'm looking to start growing soon. what strain is it and wherefrom?

Thats great mate!

I'd be interested to know where you buy specific strains from too, heaps of room at my place to give them a go and I think I've talked the neighbour into it too!  Irish girl that loves a guinness, should be an easy trade ;)