Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

g'day everyone,

I am new to kegging and im wondering about everyones processes for conditioning. My last brew an APA got the following treatment, in primary around one week, then rack to keg and add sugar to prime, left it about a week then into the fridge where its under 1 bar of CO2. Thats where its at now, I have another in primary, and an IPA planned for this weekend.
whats your thoughts on this process?

cheers,

Ben

Views: 238

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

yeah its been a dark day up here alright.., I was only out for 45 minutes so most of the gas actually survived, so thats the bright side I guess. next one is going in tomorrow at 40psi cheers Barry.
Hey Ben that certainly is bad luck.

My comments on this are to suggest

1. Move the fridge inside and out of the weather & prying eyes.
2. Check out the net and look at running a balanced system.

I'm running a balanced system & ok it does take a week or two to get up to full carbonation. But don't worry about that. There are many fantastic beers cask conditioned & not carbonated. Pour a pint & let it warm up a bit and enjoy the flavours that come thru. You'll be surprised at what you'll taste and enjoy some great non mainstream beer.

My reg sits at approx 12 psi (80kPa) and hasn't been tweaked since set up over 2 years ago.

few questions.

1. do you chill beer before hooking up CO2?
  2. do you leave co2 hooked up permantely to keg, ie keg outside fridge with hole in door for tube to kegs?
  3. does Co2 pressure to keg vary for keg temp in fridge?
  4. everyone has ideas on gasing-whats fail safe and quickest?

thanks!

1 - no, it goes from fermenter to keg, gets gassed at ambient and popped in the fridge

2 - yes, all the time at dispensing pressure

3 - no, because I've not worried about it because it seems 'ok'

4 - fail safe and quickest ? It's whatever works for you.