Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hey there- I have been brewing for a year now and have been using the 745ml swap a crate bottles. I had 1 exploded yesterday after accidentally knocking it. Anyone out there knows what to do to prevent this from happening? I am not keen on PET bottles.

Views: 118

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi, unfortunately I have some experience with exploding (cracking) bottles. Even had a PET burst on me once. I haven't had any problems for a few years now due to some good practice, and a good understanding of the available fermentable sugars at bottling time.

In my experience there are three potential causes of over carbonation:

1 - Infection. Years ago (as a student) I had a couple of dodgy bottles that I hadn't cleaned properly and the bacteria was growing in the bottom of the bottle. The beer was overcarbonated and although the bottle didn't explode I could see that the potential was there.

2 - Incomplete fermentation. If fermentation hasn't completed by bottling time, fermentable sugars will remain in the beer and fermentation will therefore continue in the bottle. The main reasons for incomplete fermentation are poor yeast (either purchased bad yeast or poor handling), not enough yeast, not enough time in the fermenter(s), temperatures outside of the yeast's tolerable temp range resulting in poor yeast health. Do you use a hydrometer to check fermentation progress?

3 - Over Priming (or inconsistent primimg). If fermentation is complete and the bottles are clean and sterile, that leaves priming. I would recommend bulk priming over individual bottle priming. Here's a link to HowToBrew on bulk priming. Bulk priming will create a consistent carbonation for all of your bottles and will reduce the chance of accidentally over priming the odd bottle. Have you ever looked at the different sized carbonation drops in a bag, they can't all be right.