Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hey, i'm very new to home brewing, and have my first one on now.
i'm struggling to keep the temperature above about 15c. i understand that 18-30c is recommended.
any tips/hints?

thanks
pete

Views: 371

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

i've used a bit of initiative and put a hot towel round it, and a sleeping bag over the top to try and keep the heat in?
any advice?
What yeast are you using bro?
whichever one came in the munich lager pack that i bought - sorry i can't be in any more specific than that, this is very first attempt so i bought a kit with everything included.
I used to put mine in the hot water cupboard, infront of the heater... stuff like that. Once you've hit the temp you want, your sleeping bag should do the rest of the work. The kits generally only take 3 - 5 days to finish off.
Depending on the yeast you will want to target different temps. Did the yeast have a temp range specified? If it's an unlabelled kit beer yeast I would aim for 18-20c.

Once you determine what temp you want you can always put it in the bath and control the temp of the water around the fermenter. Assuming you have a bath :-) The temp of the beer will soon come in line with the temp of the bath water.
thanks guys!
am i guessing right, that if it doesn't get up to temperature the yeast won't ferment?
does it kill the yeast or will it just be 'sleeping' until the correct temperature is reached?
Lower tamps make the yeast go lazy. You'll get a few funky characters come through if you leave it for too long... but dont go OTT with heating it up. Pitch cool helps keep the funk under control... but leaving it cool for too long (2 weeks or so) doesn't help a thing. If you can get it to 18 - 20 for a week... it should be fine.

How long ago did you put the yeast in?
i put the yeast in yesterday, so hasn't been cool for too long.
im on the case now to keep it at 18-20 for a week! thanks so much!