Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi there,

I am pretty new to the all grain brewing but after a few brews with my conical SS brewing technologies fermenter i discovered the pitfalls with the design which makes it hard to make sure that all of the trub and dry hop material does not go into the fermenter so I am trying out an idea I had which many of you will probably have a better idea whether it will fix my issue.

I am going to cut a slice off the bottom of the fermenter to end up with a 50mm hole in the bottom then weld on a 2" weld ferrule then tri clamp this onto a 2" sanitary sight glass such as this :

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/111345526240?_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649...

then triclamp a 2" sanitary ball valve on the bottom of this.

During fermentation any of the trub and dry hop sludge will collect in this sight glass then 1 day before the cold crash has finished up the valve slightly and dump out the sludge. Then after another day before I keg drain any excess sludge that might have settled over the course of the day and hopefully end up with a fairly clean brew that goes into my keg.

I have had a few issues with the keg downpipe clogging due to left over sludge in the bottom of the keg which is the primary reason for doing this as well I thought it would be good to eliminate wastage...

I have read that minimising the trub area in contact with the brew is a good idea to eliminate off flavours so that may be helped too...And also I dont want to use a hop bag/strainer if possible..

The only thing (I could think of) that may be a downside is that the dry hops might fall into this cavity therefore minimising the surface area in contact with the brew. I guess i could install a second valve immediately at the bottom of the fermenter then only 1 day before kegging open this up?