Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

For lack of anywhere else to put it I'm going to write an intro here and tell you a bit about myself (you know, get the ball rolling). 

I'm Sam and I live in the absolute best part of NZ (Dunedin).  I have always wanted to get into homebrewing and the wife went ahead and bought me a starter kit for xmas.  The extract kit which came with it is currently sitting in bottles but in the mean time I have been doing lots of reading and have almost everthing required to get started with all grain BIAB.  Would like to do my first brew with a pilsener so if anyone can suggest an easy recipe it would be greatly appreciated.

My background is in chemistry (PhD) and I currently work as the regional Account Manager for a large scientific supplies company.  So if people have chemistry questions or are looking to gear up with some slightly higher tech stuff (pH meters, glassware etc) I could probably help you out.

Looking forward to getting into the scene and making some nice brews.

P.S.  A few years ago (before I knew anything about craft brewing) I was in Northern California on a conference, one night a group of us stumbled into this BrewPub (without knowing anything about it) called "The Russian River Brewing Company".  After trying a few listed on the blackboard we settled on a wee gem called "Pliny the Elder" and proceeded to get right stitched up (as only Kiwis know how to do.)  After doing some reading I only see know how famous that place (and Pliny) is, looking forward to see if I can bring back those memories...    

Views: 382

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hey Sam,

Welcome! Jealous that you've been to Russian River.

Quick question – do you have temperature control on your fermentation?

Reason is, pilsners (and any lagers) really need to be fermented at around 10-12° which I'm guessing even in the deep south is going to be tricky during summer.