Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

So I have a few hops growing on my front porch. 

They look like this

So... they look like they are ready to pick to me. Is there any optimum time to pick them?

Once picked should I then dry them somehow? What is the best way to do this?

Views: 2534

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I too am in this situation, my hops look a little different though... 

im also worried, what effect will this current rain have on the hop crops?

Nice hops! Mine are only old smoothcone but it was interesting to see how to grow them. Will get hold of something I actually use to grow next year. What are yours?

GAH whats with the photos coming out sideways!

Mine are also smoothcone. 
Has the weather hit you hard?  

This is my first year too so ive got no idea when to harvest, from what people say its when they have a papery feel and the luplin (sp) powder falls out when squeezed. also that when they hold their shape after being squeezed.

I haven't done this myself but these to sites recommend dry the hops immediately if you are not brewing straight away.

Link1

link2

Link3

Thanks for those Grant.
based on that mine might be ready now?

Yeah... they look we developed.

I can't quite tell from the photo but the pods inside should be yellowish..

My hops are looking pretty much identical to yours. I have cut them in half and rubbed them in my hands to get an aroma from them and i think they are not too far away but maybe not quite ready just yet. There was some yellow lupulin in there but not as much as i was expecting and there wasn't a huge hop aroma after rubbing them. I've got a lot of young cones too so should get two harvests from the plants i reckon. My pic was taken a week ago.

Attachments: