Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi everyone.  I have enjoyed the resurgence of cider and have now begun brewing it.  What I found during my research was that most of the information online was not very applicable to New Zealand - we cannot just pop down to WalMart to pick up cheap apples and juice!

So I thought I would post how I am doing and post progress updates if anyone wants to comment and follow my progress! 

I am aiming for something drinkable that is not as sharp as the cheap ciders you get from the store.  I also want natural fermentation rather than the cheap fizz you feel in mass produced bottles.

First disclosure is that I am a Research/Process Chemist so if I gloss over stuff just ask.  It possibly helped with sourcing some stuff and (guessing) which things were OK to replace to make this venture a lot cheaper!

Second disclosure is that I have just finished off my first cider brew of 10L, the second (20L) is in the bottles, and the 3rd (75L) is now in the primaries.  I am going for this :)  The first batch worked out at 7.5% ABV as a drinkable, dry cider.  One 750mL bottle is 4.4 standard drinks so its good fun.  I also calculate this at ~$1 per bottle and it is WAY easier than brewing beer from those Mangrove Jack tins (which I also tried) to see if I wanted to get into making beer.

So, apples:

If you have a local source of apples then that's great - please let me know where. 

I used Pak'N'Save fresh 100% juice - no additives for my first batch.  This was about $3 for 2L.  This was a bit bland

Fresh Up Granny Smith (Crisp Apple) is about the same price.  This is also good for increasing the tartness which appears to be important.