Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi everyone,

Just looking for some advice.

First time using mangrove jacks M84 bohemian lager yeast for my California common. I rehydrated the yeast as per instructions (20-25c) and have fermentation chamber set up 14c. I pitched the yeast on Saturday evening. Day 2 I had some signs of fermentation but now today Day 3 it seems completely dormant and airlock bubbling reversing.. This is my first time brewing a lager , is this to be expected ? Or should I start to think about pitching again.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm just used to strong ale fermentations to date

Thanks

Views: 372

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I would say the only way it can reverse bubble if your fridge temp control is cooling. Has it been maintaining constant temp, and was it alot warmer than 14 deg when you placed it in the fridge?

Have you done a gravity reading to see if fermentation has already finished (if it was pitched quite warm?)?

The fridge has maintained a temperature between 14.0-14.7 so not huge movements. I placed the fermenter in the fridge at 29c, but did not pitch until the wort had chilled down to 14c.

Have just done a gravity reading the it remains constant on 12 brix (same reading as Saturday)

Hi Daniel

Couple of questions:

How long did it take to go from 29 deg to 14 once you had it in the fridge?

Are you measuring your temp on a strip on the outside of the fermentor or in a thermowell (inside the beer?)

I have had liquid lagers wait 36-48 hours before forming signs of fermentation,  I would have pitched 2 packs of dry yeast for a lager.   For Liquid yeast either a 5L starter or a re pitch from yeast cake is required.

exactly peter

never pitch your lager yeast until its at temp.