Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hey guys,

So confessions first, I'm a newbie to brewing and to the site (which looks awesome) and this is my first post. And yes, I'm humbly looking for a bit of advice. I have had a poke around previous threads and the library (which looks like an amazing resource) but can't find any answers to my specific questions, so here's hoping one of you good people can help me. 

I put my first kit down to ferment on Saturday, "Obligatory NZ Pale Ale" from Te Aro Brewing Co, and used Michael Donaldson's book, The Big Book of Home Brew as a guide. But, in the process, I think I may have made two potentially critical mistakes, as follows:

1. I didn't find out about the effects of UV light on beer until my wort had been in the fermenter for around 24 hours (12 hours of which were daylight). I then covered it in a black cloth to keep it in the dark. Wort went in at 3pm Sat, and the cloth went on at 2pm Sunday. It's fermenting in my utility, a coolish room that receives no direct sunshine, and is in an opaque/white plastic iMake fermenter. I'm kind of hoping that the process was in an early enough stage that insufficient alpha acids had formed to be affected by the UV light in the room, and that I've escaped any skunking. So, do you reckon it's too late or might I have got away with it?

2. Potentially, a much more serious problem - my kit came with some Brewtopia Sodium Percarbonate Detergent & Steriliser, which I used to thoroughly sterilise everything in the kit. But the kit did not include any Iodophor, so I did not use any. Was this a catastrophic mistake?

Thank you very much in advance for anyone who can help me with these questions.

Cheers,

Jules

Views: 404

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Jules,

On all accounts I think you will be just fine.