Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70871

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

sorry just reread shep delight not special b, ignore those comments above.  

I've not had Rogers, but I suspect your version may be a little dark for an Amber...is that 31 SRM or EBC?

It looks nice to me...that's a pretty decent hop bill for a small beer, but yup, sounds tasty to me!

Some advice I got recently was to just use a little bit of Carapils for the extra sugar for mouthfeel and body - personally I wouldn't use 6 grains for an amber. I'm not an expert but I can't help wondering if CaraMunich, Crystal 80 AND Special B might not be overkill for such a small beer - has the potential to be TOO caramel and perhaps a little cloying. Otherwise, go for it - keen to hear how it works out - I'm aiming for something similar myself soon!

The colour is EBC - I was aiming for a hoppy mild in the style guidelines rather than an amber, agree with you regarding the number of grains but was going round in circles trying to decide what to pull out so thought I would throw it out for comment

I love the idea!  What about dropping the Munich, CaraMunich and Special B and adding a touch of carapils?  Keep it simple.  Up the crystal a touch if you want a but more caramel.  I used carahell in my amber, but mostly cos it was just on hand.  I think, if I make it again, will likely go back to basics, base, crystal, carapils and something for a bit of colour.

uk ales often use torrified wheat instead of carapils for a bit body and head retention.

Dont know what LC does.