Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Build: HLT Controller - STC-1000 with relay and float switch

Currently building a new controller for the HLT.  We wanted a circuit that monitors the temperature of the water in the HLT and fires up the element when required, also with the added protection of a float switch to protect the element before the water level drops below it.

Below is my initial wiring diagram.  I'm far from a professional when it comes to electronics, so any input would be appreciated.

Views: 2224

Attachments:

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Check the stc specs and make sure it can switch DLC. Otherwise switch the 230v supply to the transformer

Hi Scott,  I've already built a quick prototype to check the wiring and it does switch DC, so I think I'm good on that front.  Just wanted to make sure I'm not missing anything else.  thanks for the response.

From what I have seen of photos of the STC1000 guts you should be good - looks like the relays are rated for 10A @ 277VAC / 28VDC http://www.hongfa.com/pro/HF3FF_en.html

What float switch are you using? And is all of this on a 15A plug/socket?

Thanks, yeah it looks like the DC side will be fine. I'm using this Float Switch. Running it from a 20A RCD socket.

DLC ment to be DC

Any reason you wouldn't use a cheap Sestos PID over the STC? 

More accurate control, just as cheap, no DC transformer required as they have 12VDC output specifically to power SSRs.

With the exchange rate what it is right now that thing would be about $NZ35 landed.

All very good points, and to be honest I had not really looked into a PID.  I already have most of the parts from other projects so I'm putting them to good use. Thanks for the heads up.