Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

I wanted to brew an IPA with Wai-iti so that the Wai-iti was the main hop as I have never used it before. 

Brew in the bag

Grain 

4.5kg Pilsner Malt

0.5 Light Crystal 

0.2 Carapils

Hops

5gr Wai-iti 60min

15g Wai-iti 15min

5g Cascade 15min

5gr Rewaka 15min

20g Wai-iti 10min 

10g Cascade 10min

5g Nelson Sauvin 10min

10gr Wai-iti 5min

10g Cascade 5min

10g Rewaka 10min

15g Wai-iti Flame out

5g Rewaka Flame out

5gr Nelson Sauvin Flame out

40gr Wai-iti Dryhop after 7 days on the yeast

20gr Cascade Dryhop after 7 days on the yeast

5gr Nelson Sauvin Dryhop after 7 days on the yeast

37g Wai-iti Dry hop after 8 days on the yeast 

20g Cascade Dry hop after 8 days on the yeast 

Mashed in 67 deg

Mashed out at 78 deg for 10 min

Pitched at 18 deg for 7 days, then 7 days at 21 deg. 

Kegged after 14 days on the yeast, bottled after one week in the keg. 

OG 1.052

FG  1.016

19L batch

60 min Boil

Views: 933

Replies to This Discussion

I was keen to try this one Ross so I cracked it tonight. Poured a nice golden colour. Head faded(as did Oli's so I suspect the glass) Slight haze but good considering the amount of dry hop.

I must say the aroma coming from this is WAY better then the sample I had earlier in the musty glass. A distinctly kiwi aroma. Nice and fruity, light orange, maybe stone fruit.

Carbonation is perfect. The taste is crisp, clean and the hops come through as citrus again. Mouthfeel is medium. Bitterness is clean and to a good level(what were the IBU's)

A great beer Ross, this should be a re-brew for sure. I'll have to seek out Wai-iti at some point. Well done.

This seems to be getting better as I drink it. Use the spiegelau glasses if you have them guys.

Impressive beer.

Appearance: Clear golden yellow colour, good clarity and head, dissipates quickly, and a ring stays.