Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

A thread where we can discuss cloning a commercial release.

Views: 3733

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

One of the reasons I started brewing was to be able to try and brew an Epic Armageddon clone.    Before attempting this I had tried Epic Pale Ale, Emerson's Bookbinder and Hallatau Maximus.   Along the way I have learnt that sometimes when you make a great beer you are still disappointed that its not what you where trying to create and that you should never tell someone what a beer was "ment" to be rather just let it be what it is, still I want to make great beer clones to prove that I can brew it...

Anyone else that has tried to clone a beer feel free to post the recipe and what wasn't right about it.  I will shortly post my Armageddon recipe and whats right and wrong about it...

Here is my clone and the real beer , which is which?

Clone on the right?

no my clone is on the left.... Armageddon is not as dark as you remembered it...

Attachments:
Epic is also what got me into brewing. One of my first beers was an attempt at a epic pale ale clone. It turned out rubbish. Thin vege tasting still drank the lot tho. Recent attempts have be much better.

I haven't made this yet, but have done lots of research and I'm pretty sure Baylands are on the money with this clone...

http://baylandsbrewery.com/store/epic-pale-ale-recipe-kit

I am going to give it a crack soon tho, I just need to make a stout for a mate that gave me 10m of copper first :-)

An interesting thought I have had regarding that Baylands link.

So I have shared the recipe for Epic Pale Ale for homebrewers or professional brewers (if they need help) to use.

But now Baylands are leveraging off the Epic brand to sell the ingredients, and make profit. (if it was just a list of ingredients would as many be sold?)