Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

I'm intrigued by brewing with some of the less popular hops we have in New Zealand, particularly with high demand for things like riwaka and sauvin. I'm sure there is a good use for these hops beyond bittering in boring mass market lagers.

In particular, I'm interested in people's experiences with the flavour, aroma and bittering quality of hops like sticklebract, super alpha, green bulllet and pacific jade. I've used super alpha as a late addition along with some frutier NZ varieties and it went down really well in an English IPA I did but I have no experience with the others. I love Southern Cross as a late addition too, although I guess that is more widely used.

Views: 4656

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Super Alpha are on my 'Never Use Again" list.

I experimented with several brews using it as a bittering or flavouring hop. Each time it left a sour after taste that wouldn't go away. I like hopiness but not like that.

Since I have played with Pacific Gem (Big Tick, try it in a bitter or amber ale), Northern, Nugget.

I have yet to try out the green bullet or pacific jade.

btw you can get a real since of them by just making a cup of tea from each. Boiling water onto a coupe of pellets, leave for 10 minutes and taste.

+1 to Scarrfie's PG then NZ Fuggles... great combo.