Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70863

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I can imagine that would be good Jacko.

I'm not much on brewing pils, pretty much given up after not too many attempts
What's more important, water treatment, mash schedule, pitching & ferment temp ?

Thanks Jacko,

Beer smith tells me I need to keep the melanoiden below about 8% if want to keep to style colour wise.

I have never used it before and was wondering how much you would use?

Others could probably pitch in as I've not used it much as I thought the 100% base was malty enough, personal tastes and all that. But maybe start with 3% melanoiden and then go from there for the next one?

jt - I'd say for a decent pils/lager the most important is pitching and ferment temp. And some conditioning time always helps. Pitch cold, ferment cold, and pitch lots of yeast so it gets the beer down to target gravity. I've had the odd one stall at 1.020ish and gets a bit sweet.

I did a couple with 34/70 year before last. There was a fair bit of discussion about JamesP's hoprocker at the time
I managed the cold pitch and ferment ok, but I'm impatient and missed out on the conditioning time.
Banksy has the patience, he manages to condition for a month or three and that pays off

And I think Mark in Palmy has used the Malteurop a bit in pils too, it'd be worth checking his posts

Yup, used Malteurop a fair bit including a recent Dortmunder lager and a (currently fermenting) pilsner, both with 34/70. I did a single decoction  in both at mash out, it's definitely noticeable in the lager. I've used melanoiden in the past and I'm not a huge fan or it in lagers/pilsners, they end up tasting more like an English bitter. However it's probably ok in small doses.