Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Thought it might be handy to have a thread for some of the more advanced brewers to give some advice on recipes.

Let's see how it goes eh...

Views: 70871

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

So I am waiting for my first pot (a 31 ltr job of TM from the inlaws) to get my sweet hands on on Xmas day and then I am looking at the BIAB method to start heading towards the All Grain style of brewing. I want to make 20 ltr batches and hope this will be sweet to do in this pot.

I am quite the fan of the Tall Poppy and it would be awesome to head towards that. I have only seen one thread about this but I am still not quite sure how the recipe should go and also what I can use hop-wise as some of the hops are unavailable to me. So far I have only used NS and NZ Cascade after a Toucan that used Amarillo in a Tea bag. 

I am still learning so it would be cool to get ideas or recipes that could take me in this direction.

Cheers

Chris

From searching around the forum here is Glen and Soren talking about Tall Poppy recipe.

by denimglen on September 8, 2009 at 4:06pm

10B American Amber Ale - Silver Medal, 39/50 - "Too hoppy for style - closer to IPA"

Recipe: Red52
Brewer: Glen Simpson
Style: American Amber Ale

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 20.00 L
Boil Size: 29.50 L
Estimated OG: 1.062 SG
Estimated Color: 15.8 SRM
Estimated IBU: 61.9 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 66.00 %
Boil Time: 65 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU
4.80 kg ..Pale Malt (2 Row) UK (Bairds) (3.2 SRM) Grain 79.78 %
0.40 kg .Crystal, Pale (Bairds) (50.0 SRM) Grain 6.59 %
0.40 kg .Munich I (Weyermann) (7.1 SRM) Grain 6.59 %
0.20 kg .Crystal, Dark (Bairds) (120.0 SRM) Grain 3.37 %
0.20 kg .Caraamber (Weyermann) (36.0 SRM) Grain 3.32 %
0.02 kg .Chocolate Malt, Pale (Bairds) (275.0 SRM)Grain 0.33 %
16.00 gm Warrior [16.40 %] (60 min) Hops 31.5 IBU