Want to place an ad email luke@realbeer.co.nz
$50+GST / month

RealBeer.co.nz

Hi there fellas,

Im brewing a Extract/Partial mash Smoked Vanilla Bourbon Porter in about a week and am a wee bit worried about my process/recipe. 
Advice/tips/ideas very welcome!!

Rather than copy-pasting it il just link you to my Hopville recipe.

Here's the main recipe I have been confidently pursuing until now:
25L Porter 7.7%

My first worry was sparked by a brew buddy of mine...
So far the ingredients for this brew have almost breached 100bux (25L)
As you can see this beer is not very close to Robust Porter style, with a lot of fermentables and with a final abv expected around 7.7%
Being a poor student, my mate suggested that I make my money go a bit further and stretch out the volume (maybe up to 40L) to end up with not such a robust beer, with a lower ABV, and more bottles to drink. (see recipe #2)

recipe #2

So as you can see, the only change to ingredients would be using a full tin (1.5kg) dark malt extract instead of 500gm. Now with a 40L volume, obvs lower gravity and ABV of 5.3%, lighter colour and lower IBU.

My question... Which one would you brew?? The hardcore 25L OR the more relaxed yet high volume 40L?

And also, one question to do with the process, how long should I steep my grain for? at what temp? and with or without all those extract syrups (light, amber, dark)?

I was planning on going with 30min steep at 66°C with just 500gm extract syrup (as Im worried the boil following this would nuke them) 

Cheers!

Views: 818

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

42 views and no replies? Anyone please? would really appreciate it

Go with the 25L - it's meant to be a big tasting beer so don't compromise on the gravity.